[WIP] Tutorial: Loghouses

For our presentation table at the 2016 Hamburger Tactica show we are going to build a table for Musket & Tomahawks. It will show the surrounding of Fort Bull (present day Rome, NY) and the fort itself. Inside the fort where several buildings, like warehouses or powder magazines. I’ll startet building thoses houses and will show the progress here:

I started with a base of polystyrne. I took the cheap bubbly stuff, cause it will be covered entirely with wooden parts, so the stability won’t be any problem. I happen to have a good table cutter ready, so I can cut straight lines. Your could use any hobby knife as well, but will end up with some sticky garbage:

  A while ago I bought a huge package of coffee stirrers, so I won’t have to rob any fast food restaurant. I’ll glue the stirrers on all the outside walls and cut them, after drying

For the roof I cut a roof shaped piece of polystyrene and covered it with stirrers.

And this is the result of 1 hour cutting, gluing  and trimming:

For the next step I used balsa wood and cut it to doors and windows. On one house I was cutting the windows and the door inside the wall to give it more depth. For the other two houses I was just lazy and glued the frame and the shutters onto the wall. I think the result is still acceptable.

  

Then came the time to dive into my hirstarts collection of already cast stones. I happen to have a bunch of wooden shingle tiles still in a box, so I used them. They look quite good on the loghouse:

And finally we have the three houses nearly finished so I decided to put them on the ground. The fort will later be 60x60cm (2’x2′), so hardly the size of the base you see in the second and third picture. Everything fits!IMG_1871IMG_1872  IMG_1873

And here is the final picture of the house with the veranda:

After the construction I was painting the houses with normal acrylic colors and drybrushed them with lighter tones. The result you can see here in the final pictures from the convention:

1461484_orig 2417584_orig 9390261_orig 9851448_orig

Kommentar verfassen

